Kathy Vruggink Westdorp Named 2013 NFHS Coach Educator of the Year

NFHS LogoThe National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) has selected Kathy Vruggink Westdorp of Michigan as the recipient of the 2013 NFHS Coach Educator of the Year Award.

Westdorp has served as assistant director of the Michigan High School Athletic Association (MHSAA) since 2004. One of her primary responsibilities when she was hired was to revamp and revitalize the Michigan coaches education program. She has established, developed and authored the MHSAA Coaches Advancement Program (CAP) and is still active in training coaches throughout the state. The CAP Program is a six-level, face-to-face coaches education program that is research-based and interactive.

Delivery to Michigan’s current and prospective interscholastic coaches is done in two ways. First, presenters trained and evaluated by Westdorp travel “anytime, anywhere” to provide programs, which are coordinated by schools, school districts, leagues and coaches associations. She personally presents many of the CAP units.

Second, after faculty training and with Westdorp’s regular evaluation, colleges and universities in Michigan are licensed to present up to five levels of CAP through their undergraduate or graduate studies.

All aspects of CAP are administered from the MHSAA office under Westdorp’s direction. This includes the arrangements for continuing education credits through the State Department of Education, as well as liability insurance and an online newsletter for all coaches who complete CAP units.

Prior to her position at the MHSAA, Westdorp was principal of Grand Rapids Forest Hills Central High School, athletic director at Grand Rapids Creston High School and a teacher at Grand Rapids Central High School. She has coached basketball, field hockey, gymnastics, track and field, and volleyball.

Previous recipients of the NFHS Coach Educator Award include Nancy O’Neil, Massachusetts, 2012; Bruce Brown, Ohio, 2011; Bobby Guthrie, North Carolina, 2010; and Mike Maghan, Oregon; Lavonne Norman, Alaska; and Ken Yamase (posthumous), Hawaii, all for 2009.

The NFHS Coach Educator Award is presented annually to an individual who has exemplified passion and leadership for the promotion of coach education at the local, state and national levels. Nominations are considered by the NFHS Coach Education Committee, and the recipient is approved by the NFHS Board of Directors.

The NFHS Coach Education Program can be accessed at www.nfhslearn.com.